Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Dear All,

I think it's time to bury the PPS Review. Sad but true. Not sure what else to say but Thank You for staying with us all this time. Thank you for being patient for 7 months! Thank you for supporting all this while.

I can't express enough the joy and the fun that I had doing the podcast. Of course I had the easier end of the bargain, Dzof had to spend a lot of days perfecting the technical and quality aspects of the show. I am extremely proud of the podcast and maybe some time in the future, I can again be part of a worthy project like this again.

Thank you all!

Friday, February 24, 2006

Discussed but Not Finalised

For all you patient fans out there, I promised a decision but.....

Dzof and I have discussed the future of The PPS Review but have not been able to come to a mutual agreement. Hence, for now, we are still on hiatus. We will keep everyone updated via this blog and may even be posting....the only thing that's missing will be our witty repartee.....which is the meat and potatoes of it all isn't it???!

Anyway, I'll pray, Dzof will pray - pray with us! Thanks again for all your support!

Tuesday, November 29, 2005

PPS Review on hiatus

Due to 'circumstances beyond control', the PPS Review is currently on hiatus until at least the end of the year. We hope y'all don't feel too bad about this, and we thank all out out there who have given our show amazing support (I'm including Danny Foo and Sashi off the top of my head).

Saturday, November 19, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 11

. Xiaxue and disabled toilets / The Girl From Ipoh / Kenny Sia in Singapore / Rock the World band list / Zouk abuse / Ten Things About Ah Lians / Underwater photos / Photography advice
Download the podcast (alternative download site).

Thursday, November 10, 2005

Apologies for the lack of podcasts

It's really, really, really terrible, but we've been bogged down with so much lately that there hasn't been time for anybody to record a podcast. Errolyn has been out of KL and Malaysia, while I have been busy preparing for a family event (more on my website when I get that written up).

I hope that you are still continuing to listen - I promise you, there will be a show by next week, with more interesting stuff.

Sunday, October 16, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 10

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/. Dzof and Errolyn's embarrassing moments / Hair for Hospice / Pakistan High Commission's request for aid / Express Teh Tarik / Axel Frog and Jac Victor / Lanie's Dad find out / Drug bust jails 22 innocents / When is an Orange and Vodka not a screwdriver? / Ipoh Chicken Good
Download the podcast (alternative download site).

Thursday, October 13, 2005

Episode 9 problems

Some of the more observant of you (i.e. those who are not deaf) will notice that there are problems with the volume in the latest episode of the podcast. It was my doing, as I wasn't taking enough care with how close we spoke to the microphone. Sometimes it was quite close (so it was very clear) and sometimes not close at all.

This is why the last podcast took so long. I couldn't normalise the whole podcast because the soft bits stayed soft since the max volume was originally reached by the loud bits. So, I tried increasing the volume for the patchy bits, but they're still patchy, I know. Much better than the original, though.

If anybody smart out there knows how to solve this sort of problem, feel free to tell me. Might save me a bunch of effort next time around.

PPS Review Ep. 9

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/.Daniel the Malaysian Idol Winner / Maxis customer service / Hustler's dating agency / Lim Kit Siang's blog / Applying to Oxford University / Chicks at a kindergarten concert
Download the podcast (alternative download) (20.6 MB)

Wednesday, October 05, 2005

Delay in Episode 9

This post is to apologise about the delay in coming out with Episode 9. I should have done it by yesterday but life has a bad habit of getting in the way of work.

Bear with me, as a teaser, topics we discussed were: Why Daniel won MI, Applying to Oxford University, Lim Kit Siang's Blog and Hot Mamas at a kindergarten concert.

Wednesday, September 28, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 8

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/.
Interviews at a blogger meetup with: Raymond Teh / Danny Foo / Pat (Mistress Naoko) / Emily Yoon / Silencer / MENJ / Chea Yee / Nilesh Babu / Peter Tan / DJ Cybersonique / Frostier / Fat Cat Lim
Download the podcast (21 MB)

I also had an interview with Tariq but I got something wrong technically, and so can't use his recording. :(( Sorry, Tariq.

Monday, September 19, 2005

One half of the PPS Review podcast at the Blogger meetup

Okay. This is the latest situation.
  1. Errolyn cannot be at the Blogger meetup.
  2. Dzof can, unless something really unexpected happens on the Saturday (e.g. a whole bunch of girls mistake him for Daniel in a dark hallway and jump him).
  3. We may or may not record a podcast. It depends on many things.
    • The sound quality is a bit of a worry. What is the ambient noise like?
    • I will not have Internet access for half the week, but Sashi has kindly offered to gather links in the meantime.

Anyway, it will be at Oasis Food Court, Mid-Valley MegaMall, 25 Sep 2005, 3pm. Hope to see you all there!

Sunday, September 18, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 7

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/. Podcast at blogger meetup? / Malaysian Idol / Another Malaysian Podcast / Plagiarised article in the Malay Mail / Cut and Paste Blogs / Blogger chases down offensive commenter / Yvonne Foong and William Quah, sitting in a tree... / Order pizza in Selangor via Penang / Kung Fu Mosquito Killer / LKW University College won't take money
Download the podcast (20 MB)(alternate download)

Tuesday, September 13, 2005

The PPS Review live from the blogger meetup? Maybe...

OK, so Sashi saw me on Y!Messenger, and he said, why don't you do the podcast from the blogger's meetup at Mid Valley on 25 September? I was like 'eh?' at first, but in priciple, it's not a bad idea.

Two problems though.
  1. I don't have a reliable notebook and certainly not one with WiFi access, so I'd have to beg, borrow or steal one.
  2. Errolyn may be out of town that weekend, so I will be effectively partnerless. (Also, I am willing to bet that the only reason Sashi wants to see us there is because he wants to meet Errolyn in person. Hey, that'd be my reason if I were him.)
If anyone out there thinks that despite all this, you'd like to see a podcast done 'live' and strip bare the magic behind the show (I do warn you, I have a face made for radio), drop me a line. We'll make our decision by next week.

Monday, September 12, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 6

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/. Music by Lokee / Yvonne Foong / Searching for Sharon Goh / T-Shirts for sale / Xiaxue vs Shaolin Tiger / Mahathir vs the world / Laptop thefts / 8TV Dramedy on the web / Funding films / How to attract men by speaking like a child

Download the Podcast! (20.8 MB)

Sunday, September 04, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 5

Shownotes at http://ppsreview.blogspot.com/. New Look PPS / Merdeka Blogger Project / Nasi Kandar Pelita in Chennai / Five star hotel reneges on five sen / Patriotic flag girl / Kenny Sia's Babes of Malaysian Blogs / Richard Stallman / Music we like.

Download the podcast.

Sunday, August 28, 2005

PPS Review Ep. 4

This episode: Getting lost in KLCC / KLCC Aquaria / Zoo Negara Night Safari / XiaXue vs Minishorts / Guardian Pharmacy service / TV Smith on Privacy / Karaoke Vending Booths / Gaban Z vs Ultraman / Errolyn rants about bad English.

Download the podcast (15.7 MB) or subscribe to iTunes.